My Black Christmas

I love black. In my teen years, I painted one of my bedroom walls black.

In grade school someone said that black is the presence of all colors. If so, then this Christmas 2011 is my most colorful Christmas yet with all hues coming together in such joyful blackness and filling my stocking.

First is a black and chrome Pentax S2 M42 camera circa 1959. A welcome addition to my collection of Spotmatics, taking its place in the family tree. It comes with an Auto Takumar 55/2.0, both of which I got from my new old cam source.

Second is a Pentax ME (working!) body with a (surprise!!!!) Pentax M 40/2.8 pancake lens! I rescued this from a guitar surplus store. It was languishing in an old box along with the S2 and other junk cams when I happened to pass by the store. As they say, one man’s junk is another one’s treasure.

Third is a Pentax DA 21 Limited lens, a generous gift from my US-based nephew. It came in just in time to replace one of my wide zooms which badly needs CLA. The DA 21 Limited is a very compact lens and I do like the images it gives me.

Lastly, a black generic battery grip for my Pentax K5, courtesy of my China-based best friend. Less expensive than the genuine grip, it still serves its purpose so I’m not complaining.

My K5 now looks more handsome.

Nice way to end the year and start a new one. Looking forward to what this new year brings. Cheers!

2 comments on “My Black Christmas

    • the s2 needs a new curtain but i’m not complaining. i do so love the latest addition too – a honeywell H1a i got from the US. works fine, just needs new foam. thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

